2007/04/27

They really love each other...

Happy birthday to Daddy!
I remember on my mom's birthday, my dad would always write me an email reminding me to greet my mom. Or once in a while, my dad writes me an email asking me don't forget to show my care to my mom.
Today, I got a message from my mom saying that 'Today's your dad's birthday. Do you remember? Don't forget to show your care to him.' Well, of course I won't forget and I've already say happy birthday to my dad in his early morning of his birthday. For the ones who doesn't know my family well. All of us three are living in the different countries with three different time zones. I've been counting down my dad's birthday since a week ago just in case I'd forget about the time differences and be too late. Anyway, I guess we're really a family. We're not good at showing our care in front of each other, but through the third one.
Yet on every single Valentine's day, anniversary, birthday. My dad always texts my mom with the end 'from your old lover' Every time I saw my mom showing the message to me with a proud and warm smile, I'm wondering if I could every marry to a man as good as my dad. I'm not sure how could my mom be so lucky finding a good guy like my dad. But today, when I was talking about staying in the U.S to work with my mom. My mom said 'Well... if you want to stay. Then you should have a long term plan. Don't just work all the time. Hmm, I'm not pressuring your to get married. But hmm... you're not young at all. But, don't marry an American." I told her that all the people I meet everyday are Americans, and besides the Taiwanese guys I know and I don't like, there're only Chinese left whom I don't know any of them. And to my surprise,, my mom said Chinese guys are fine if I don't like Taiwanese guys, but they need to be nice guys. Well... I don't know how to reply when she just brought up this topic. I just told her that she should trust my 'picking' ability.But I don't have the confidence that I could find a good guy as my dad. and I wonder if there's any.
That reminds me a sad and sweet story to me... When my mom and I went to visit my dad in Vietnam. We happened to see someone chasing another person and fighting when we went to a waterpark. We just suddenly saw a guy running to our direction and started beating the guy near to us with a huge stick. I was so scared and then I turned my head tried to find my parents. THEY'RE GONE! So I had to find a car so that I could hind behind it. Just when I was hiding, I heard my mom calling 'Chun, Chun!' I was finally relaxed that my parents were still somewhere. Then I saw my dad holding my mom's hand talking my mom running away. When I just saw that, first I felt it's so sweet that my dad's really like a hero to my mom. But then I felt so sad that... they love each other so much that they're running away without their ONLY DAUGHTER! and just left me behind....
So then I made up my mind that.... MOM, don't worry, I'll marry a guy loves me as much as dad loves you.
Today's also my one day off after such a long time and 73 hours of working last week. I guess it's a good day for day dreaming. But useless me, I got up at 5am again on my day off... I think I'm just the kind of person that was born to work. Well, I guess today's also a good day to have Chinese Buffet again... Work more, eat more! Hurray!

2007/04/16

你是唯一

這首歌 不是Lee Hom的歌 也不是在講有關愛情的歌
第一次聽到 是在參加教會小朋友夏令營的時候
每次去教會跟大家一起唱歌 往往都會被簡單而言意深遠的歌詞而感動
這首歌就是其中一個例子
所以 送給我的姐妹們

<你是唯一>
世界有你會更美好,
沒有人能像你,
神的眼中你是寶貝,
在世上你就是唯一。
而你是如此如此特別 在上帝的眼中 沒有人能取代你

2007/04/05

A real Story

-that no girls want to be involved in.
I just heard a story about the new intern girl. A story about her and her ex who died in an car accident. They'd been dating with each other for 6 years, and she didn't find out that he'd been also dating another girl at the same time for 3 years until the intern girl went to her ex's funeral. She said she got so many things to ask him but since he died, there's no answer for nothing. Now, I can kind of understand the reason she became the totally opposite type as me. And I also feel sorry for her. But the impression she gave me now is that she's a pretty strong will girl that no more guys can hurt her, only she can hurt guys. Well, I just feel.... weird, 6 years, 3 years, another girl, funeral... I guess nothing is impossible. Shit and Pan, be careful you girls! Grape, behave!-at least until we go visit you!

Happy Children's day

Today is the children's day. And no matter how old I was, my dad used to give me a present for that. Well, actually I asked for that since they always said that no matter how old I am, I'm always their child (that's when I didn't obey them and thought I was old enough to deal my own business). Well, no present this year, just like no red envelop. I don't really want to remind myself how old I am now. But there's a new intern came last Friday who's older than me made me feel a little bit better. But maybe because of she's older, her thoughts kind of..... too adult for me. I just feel that... she's not the type of girl that I'd get alone with. We'll see.
Today, one of the coworkers said to me that he thinks that I should not go back to Taiwan and should just stay in Knoxville because I'm a Taiwanese working machine, which made me feel sweet but also sad. Everyone kept asking me what's my plan for the future. To be honest, even I have my plan, but I don't really have the control of it. And even I always had plans and God always somehow just gave me what I wanted, and sometimes my luck indeed surprised me and scared me. Yet this time, still as always, I don't want to expect too much just in case I won't be disappointed afterwards. All I can do is just praying, and praying, as I always did.
Yesterday, one of my aunties asked me if I miss my family in Taiwan, if I miss home, if I miss her. Even though I do, I still just told her that if I'm always missing my home, then how could I be independent. If I miss home all the time, I could never leave my parents and should just stay at home be their little Jackie. I think that's me, always shy to tell my true feelings, either to my family or to my friends.
But I had a deep thought later on, I'm now wondering if I really miss home or not since I sometimes don't want to be under controlled of my mom all the time when I'm here. I guess I just.... miss the life in Taiwan- that I could go to night market, I could walk Bagel, I could eat out and hang out with my friends, I could do a lot of things instead of just going to the bars in Knoxville. I guess I like to work and the relaxing life here in the U.S. but I need a vacation back to Taiwan once in a while- to eat- which reminds me that ... I do eat a lot. Today, a fat lady working in the kitchen saw me got a lot of food in the staff cafe, she asked if it's all for me, I said '...uhh... yes....why?' Then she touched my stomach and asked "Where does the food go? see, I eat a little but got so fat. Where does the food you eat go?" Well, I'm either sad and happy to know that people think I eat a lot but don't get fat. And it always took me a long time to explain to them that how skinny Taiwanese girls are, and how fat I was considered by Taiwanese people. They still can't believe me now, like they can't believe that Taiwanese guys like girls to be pale and skinny. Today, I had another argument with my coworker of American guy's taste. He now having a Thai girlfriend and he said that once he or any American guy who has dated an Asian girl, then there's no reason they'd ever date an American girl anymore. I guess he's just trying to say that we-Asian girls are the best! He indeed said that American girls suck compared to us. Oh the argument is about girls' big eyes and noses. I still couldn't get why those American guys like girls with small eyes. He told me that it's just like he couldn't get why Taiwanese guys would like skinny girls. I think what he wanted to say was that.... guys don't touch girls' eyes so the size of eyes don't really matter, but if a girl's skinny, she got no... body-which guys don't feel good when they're touching. Well, that's a good point that could convince me. Well, it's just interesting to know why guys are thinking especially all my friends in Taiwan are almost the same type, but here, none of them are like each other. Interesting....

2007/04/03

Couple of days ago, my friends finally made me got out of my house hanging out with them. It's my first time stay out so late. The only reason I'd go was that they're playing BOWLING!
Bowling.... lots of memories of that. During half of my high school life, I was addicted to bowling. And it's the only sport I like of high school gym class (and swimming probably).
In the beginning, I didn't want to go since I was just too lazy to go out. Yet my friends said something like 'Come on, stop playing bowling on your Wii, show us how good you are!'
Well, people who know my well know that I don't like to be teased... And since I start feeling that my life's going pretty boring and I need some changes, I took their challenge!
There're totally eight of us. I thought I wouldn't play very well since I haven't played it for a long time, only on Wii. But for Wii, it's a piece of cake, you can always hit many pins. For me, only Spire or Strike are good, but when ever I hit more than 7 pins, my friends yelled 'Jackie, stop playing so well!'. The first run, I got only 107, but I badly beat all the guys. One of them kept saying that 'Oh my, I can't believe I'm beat by an Asian' And I replied 'Well, an Asian GIRL!'
For the second run, When it's on the 5th ball, I was already twice more score as all the others. The guy who was at the same path with me said that he didn't want to be at the same path with me. All the Asian girls hurrayed for me, and all the guys said that it's no fun playing that with me. Well, I told them that's why I didn't got out with them a lot since I don't want to beat them all the time. Haha.
One of the guy asked if I could play golf. I told him that I like golf, but I'm not good at it. He said that I also told him that I was not good at bowling before. And I told him that my arability of golf is worse than my bowling but I guess he didn't believe me anymore.
To the forth game, I was already so tired since it's almost midnight, but I still beat them. I felt sorry for them really... But I guess that's why sometimes guys are afraid of me besides I'd say something mean to them. I'm.....just the BEST!
But there's still something I can't understand, I guess there's just always exceptions. C'est la vie.
By the way, my legs and arms hurt badly now becuase of playing bowling... getting old...